NTTCC Kartini Cup Wicket Celebration

NTT women’s cricket on display at the 2016 Kartini Cup

What a great tournament! This was the second time the Kartini Cup has been held and it was a tribute to the organisers from the Udayana Cricket Club. Over three days from 28 to 30 March 2016, ten women’s teams from seven Indonesian provinces played Super 8 cricket in Bali and our team from NTT was one of them.

Drawn in a group with Badung, Central Java, Jakarta and the Red Ants, a Balinese team from Gianyar, NTT was extremely competitive.

Game 1: Badung made 87 runs with the loss of 1 wicket. NTT bowled too many sundries (38). NTT made 77 runs and lost 2 wickets with only 17 sundries bowled by Badung. The message was clear. You can’t afford to give the opposition 37 extra runs and win.

Game 2: NTT made 76 runs for the loss of 3 wickets. Central Java made 56 runs with the loss of 2 wickets. NTT wins!

Game 3: NTT made 54 runs with the loss of no wickets and Jakarta replied with 56 runs and the loss of 3 wickets. Once again sundries were the difference with NTT bowling 17 and Jakarta 15 but this was a huge improvement.

Game 4: NTT makes 60 runs with the loss of no wickets and the Red Ants reply with 45 runs for the loss of 4 wickets. NTT wins again!

Unfortunately two wins were not enough to progress to the cup finals however the team learnt a great deal about competition play. They also showed that they are not far off the rest of the women’s teams in Indonesia. Jakarta, the team that beat them by 2 runs went on to win the competition and Rosita Yohanes from NTT won the best batting award for the tournament.


Rosie receiving best batting awardRosie receiving the best batting of the tournament award.

The NTT team was;
NTTCC Kartini Cup 2016 Team Donations
L-R: David Christie, Soni Hawoe, Eras Djogo, Bruce Christie, Tom Vowles, Chris Schofield, Zack Awang, Yeri Rosonga, Ibu Rosie, Apolonia Meo
L-R: Maria D. Melda, Yorthina Lakfanu, Dejoice V. V. Padokari, Yuliana Naimuni, Rosita Yonaes, Boni Melda Sir (C), Quistin B. Mira, Adelfina Maonmuti, Maria G. Linome
Coach: Zacaria Awang
Managers: Pak Eras Djogo and Ibu Rosie

Post a Comment